Decentralized Medicine

Hello everyone!

I apologize in advance because, being a medical doctor, my technical experience is very limited. However, considering the positive attitude of this community and the potentials of the Terra ecosystem, this could be a good place to express what’s on my mind.

A vast number of dApps (mainly based on DeFi) have been developed across different chains: exchanges, lending platforms, even financial insurance platforms. This is great, and I believe that Terra has some major advantages in considering its direction towards real-life applicability in the current economy (and its minimal fees).
However, I still can’t see significant advances in what probably is the most centralized system and sub-optimized in society, the medical system!
I believe there is a massive potential in this field: decentralized medical insurance, blockchain-based telemedicine and medical payment systems, medical concierge dApps, etc.

What is your view on this topic?
Are you aware of any existing project?
Thank you!!

Digipharm: Don’t know enough details abt the project to explain here but there you go, I’ll let you explore their page: Digipharm Announce Migration To Terra Ecosystem - DIGIPHARM

Why does medicine need to be decentralized?

Thank you very much, I’ll check it out!

I don’t think medicine should be decentralized in general. In some instances, centralization is needed (reference centers for rare pathologies, high volume centers, etc.). However, I believe that a more decentralized approach may favor some aspects.

In particular: