Thoughts on increasing the number of active validators from 130 to 150?

Let me state this clearly I have no experience or knowledge on technical aspects of blockchain technology that’s why this is not a propsal rather a post to discuss a future proposal on increasing the maximum number of active validators.

Last time Do Kwon proposed increasing the validators from a 100 to 130 because Cosmos Hub was able to run smoothly even with 130 validators. So what about increasing active validators from 130 to 150? From what I have read Cosmos Hub is functioning perfectly even with 150 validators.

What is the benefit of increasing the active validator set?
Same as the last time which are -

• Having more validators is value accretive to the network.
  • Future projects which want to can become an active validator without requiring a large amount of Luna to become active. This issue was seen in Coinhall where there validator was inactive for the first two days because they were unable to get enough Luna to become an active validator.
  • The Cosmos Hub has been running with a comparable no of validators in the active set for many months without issues.

If from this discussion we can come to the conclusion that we can increase the number of active validators without major issues I suggest someone more technical to make a post to propose the same.

1 Like

I’m surprised this didn’t get more eyes on it. The Cosmos Hub has increased to 175 now and everything is going just fine.

How do people feel about expanding the active set? Entering the active set is pretty much unobtainable by anyone that doesn’t have massive capital backing since its about $19 Million to get into the active set at the moment.

I think yes if anything 150 is even more safe now as they are running just fine with 175.

People like Larry did say how it’s requires a very large capital to run a validator.