A Sensible Decision-making Framework

We aren’t going anywhere until we have a sensible decision-making framework for people to evaluate the different proposals. This post seeks to drive attention to the fact that it will be fundamentally impossible to implement any proposal with community support because there is currently no framework for decision-making.

TLDR: Too much noise. Need leadership and decision-making structure immediately to evaluate proposals and relay information.

Why I made this post

I am a restructuring lawyer working at one of the top international law firms. I have worked on collapses and restructurings worth billions of dollars affecting both retail and institutional investors and have represented clients across the capital structure.

This LUNA-Terra debacle has obviously interested me and I am very excited to see how the first community-led restructuring on this scale plays out. But looking through the forums, I noticed that the current method of discussion saving the project is incredibly inefficient and will likely lead to the end result of nothing being agreed.

The Problems

(1) Stakeholder Groups with different interests

We currently have one massive forum for discussion which includes stakeholders with incredibly different circumstances.

The interests of a LUNA holder and a UST holder are obviously opposed. People holding LUNA bags want to drop the UST holders to save their own bags and the UST holders want LUNA holders to fulfil their end of the ‘bargain’ to secure the UST debt.

Similarly, the interests of a person who held LUNA from pre-attack to zero is vastly different from a person who bought LUNA at a discount while the dilution mechanism went into overdrive. And a person who rode UST to zero (believing it was a savings account) has interests vastly different from a person who was speculating on the UST peg returning to $1 (a distressed debt investor).